VFW contest winners

Staff photo by Mary Judson

Staff photo by Mary Judson

Port Aransas ISD students and teachers received awards from the Moore-McDonald VFW Post 8967 on Wednesday, April 12, at a meeting of the Port Aransas school board. From left are, C.D. McCabe, post chief of staff; Evieanna Fall, BMS student who won third-place in the Patriots’ Pen Essay; Sarah Foster, BMS student who won second-place in the Patriots’ Pen Essay; Jenna Canfield, BMS student who won first-place in the Patriots’ Pen Essay; Jamie Erickson, OES special education teacher who won the post’s teacher of the year award as well as the district competition award and Stephanie Siddall, PAHS US History, OnRamps US History, Economics, AP Economics teacher and Cheer Coach was named the post teacher of the year. Not present were BMS teacher Trevor Green, named post middle-school teacher of the year and PAHS senior student Avica Burrill who won first-place in the Voice of Democracy essay contest for the post, the district competition and 7th-place in the state competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.