Primary run-offs draw few to vote early

On day one of early voting in the May 24 Republican and Democratic primary run-off elections 18 had cast ballots in Port Aransas by mid-afternoon on Monday, May 16.

Early voting continues through Friday, May 20.

Voting in Port Aransas is at the Bill Ellis Memorial Library. Hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voting in this election is quite a contrast from the city’s recent election for mayor and three council positions that drew more than 1,000 voters just in early voting.

Voters who cast ballots in the Republican primary in March may vote in the Republican run-off, but not in the Democratic run-off. The same is true of voters who cast ballots in the Democratic primary. They may vote in the Democratic run-off, but not in the Republican run-off.

Following are the races in both run-offs.

Attorney General

Ken Paxton
George P. Bush
General Land Office
Tim Westley
Dawn Buckingham
Railroad Commissioner
Wayne Christian
Sarah Stogner
Lieutenant Governor
Mike Collier
Michelle Beckley
Attorney General
Joe Jaworski
Rochelle Mercedes Garza

Comptroller Of
Public Accounts
Angel Luis Vega
Janet T. Dudding
General Land Office
Jay Kleberg
Sandragrace Martinez
Member, State Board
of Education, District 2
Pete Garcia
Victor Perez
State Senator
District 27
Morgan Lamantia
Sara Stapleton-Barrera

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.