Date for run-off to be determined

The city’s new mayor and two new council members are scheduled to be sworn into office on Tuesday, May 24.

The swearings-in will be conducted during a council meeting that will start at 5 p.m. at council chambers, part of the City Hall complex at 710 W. Ave. A.

The regular monthly meeting of the city council normally is held on the third Thursday of the month. This month, that would be on May 19, but the meeting date was changed to May 24 due to scheduling conflicts that some city officials had.

The May 7 election resulted in Wendy Moore winning the race for mayor, beating Gregory Chittum and Marty Phalen.

Kelly Owens unseated Tina Mott, the incumbent in Place 2 on the city council.

Tanya Chambers beat Gary Klepperich to take Place 4.

A run-off election will determine the Place 6 winner because no single candidate received enough votes to win Saturday.

City Secretary Francisca Nixon said she expects the council, during the Tuesday meeting, to consider setting a date for the election.

State election law says that a run-off election must be held if no single candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote, plus one more vote.

Dale T. Christianson and Edwin Myers were the top two vote-getters in the race for Place 6.

Christianson pulled in 320 votes, or 24.24 percent.

Myers got 302 votes, or 22.8 percent.

Paul Ruff received 270, or 20.45 percent.

Leslie Smith got 226 votes, or 17.12 percent.

Carl “Corky” Moore garnered 202, or 15.30 percent.

Moore, Owens and Chambers join Tim Parke, who holds Place 1; Jo Ellyn Krueger, in Place 3; and David Sieloff, the Place 5 incumbent on the city council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.